1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik

IL-2 Sturmovik The famous combat flight simulator.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2010, 10:54 AM
SPITACE SPITACE is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: england
Posts: 95
Default windows 7 SOW?

hi all will SOW run/work in windows 7 32 bit and will you be able to download the sim when it comes out also how big will the download be?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2010, 11:38 AM
AndyJWest AndyJWest is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,048
Default

Well, since it isn't out, it is difficult to answer for sure but my best guess would be:
(a) Windows 7 32 bit? I'd be astonished if it didn't.
(b) Downloadable? Quite likely, I'd think. May well come out on DVD first though, and I'd rather buy that, because...
(c) How big? Huge!

AS for what minimum PC specs etc are, they aren't saying yet. You'll have to wait and see like the rest of us.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2010, 11:51 AM
Feuerfalke Feuerfalke is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,345
Default

If you plan on going for windows 7, I recommend the Home Premium Version 64bit. HomePremium has everything you need unless you have a business running on the same PC and 64bit offers you to use more than 4GB on your PC/games, which most likely will also have a positive effect on SoW.


Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyJWest View Post
AS for what minimum PC specs etc are, they aren't saying yet. You'll have to wait and see like the rest of us.
The point is, there is no way to know how something will work unless you know for sure what's in and which element has what effect on performance. So you can add a few more people who don't how the final will work: Oleg's team.
That said, it makes no point to say "they aren't saying yet", as it implies something negative that is simply not the fact.
All they could do is make estimates and what is done with those when they are not met, could be watched here a multitude of times. So it's fair reasoning they don't make the same mistake again, not some evil plan.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2010, 12:15 PM
Richie's Avatar
Richie Richie is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,441
Default

mine will be the 64 bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2010, 12:42 PM
Skarphol Skarphol is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fjellhamar, Norway
Posts: 257
Default

I really think 32-bit OS is a thing of the past.

Skarphol
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2010, 01:27 PM
KG26_Alpha's Avatar
KG26_Alpha KG26_Alpha is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,796
Default

128bit os systems are already on the way.

Windows 8 will be 128bit < rumours are rife already it is and it isn't.

Leopard and some other linux variants are going that way too.
__________________



Last edited by KG26_Alpha; 03-26-2010 at 01:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2010, 02:08 PM
Igo kyu's Avatar
Igo kyu Igo kyu is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KG26_Alpha View Post
128bit os systems are already on the way.

Windows 8 will be 128bit < rumours are rife already it is and it isn't.

Leopard and some other linux variants are going that way too.
Without 128 bit hardware?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2010, 02:42 PM
Feuerfalke Feuerfalke is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,345
Default

Even todays 64bit hardware doesn't do full 64bit. Other than serverside it makes little sense to go for 128bit, yet.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2010, 04:08 PM
TheGrunch's Avatar
TheGrunch TheGrunch is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 833
Default

Apparently Intel are working on Itanium IA-128. So pretty much server-only, yeah.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2010, 05:17 PM
KG26_Alpha's Avatar
KG26_Alpha KG26_Alpha is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,796
Default

Well I never said anything about it being now lol

But XP 64 bit was out for years (An uprated version of Server 2003 64bit), I was running 4 gig of ram on that quite nicely, mostly untouched by the public due to lack of manufacturer driver support, so obviously it will mostly be server side to begin with.

Anyway 32bit will be an option for a while due to MS covering older spec hardware.

The problem lies in the manufacturing companies holding off writing drivers for their hardware, they would rather it go obsolete and make you buy newer peripherals ( printers, scanners etc etc ) than have to put an updated driver out.
__________________



Last edited by KG26_Alpha; 03-26-2010 at 05:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:10 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.