1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Pilot's Lounge

Pilot's Lounge Members meetup

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2011, 07:47 PM
335th_GRAthos 335th_GRAthos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,240
Unhappy Sold my soul to the devil...

I saw it at the local shop today and took it with me.... DCS A-C10
Since Falcon 4.0 it has been over 10years I did not fly a jet sim. I will probably continue to do so, not my kind, even if the sim looks fantastic. And for the EUR30 it was worthwhile supporting this sim (after the comments I read about it).

What I did like however was:

Music: great!
Sounds: good
Graphics: great!

Ease of installation: fantastic
Look at the graphics setup screen: It works straight with three monitors and automatically calculates the appropriate Aspect Ratio (with the possibility of manual override)


Something like this I would have wished for CoD too....


~S~

Last edited by 335th_GRAthos; 10-30-2011 at 09:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2011, 07:51 PM
Ze-Jamz Ze-Jamz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: On your six!!
Posts: 2,302
Default

Traitor!!

Off with yer head!

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2011, 09:06 PM
Anvilfolk Anvilfolk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 141
Default

It's a GREAT game, had a blast learning how to fly, and still don't know half of it

Enjoy!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2011, 09:30 PM
skouras skouras is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Greece-Athens
Posts: 1,171
Default

GRathos were a ED tester for this sim
and i thing he still is though
anyway i love the jet sims
espesially the new BMS4
To much OF to me i guess...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2011, 10:09 PM
Ze-Jamz Ze-Jamz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: On your six!!
Posts: 2,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvilfolk View Post
It's a GREAT game, had a blast learning how to fly, and still don't know half of it

Enjoy!
Its got a thousand buttons to map though hasnt it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2011, 10:49 PM
Skoshi Tiger Skoshi Tiger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,196
Default

You don't know what you've set yourself up for!

$500 for the WARTHOG Hotas
$50 for the MFD's
You just NEED to set up a second monitor to stick your MFD's to - it's great!

I haven't flown much in A10 since COD has evolved, but youtube is your friend when learning weapon systems!

Cheers and Fox Three!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-22-2011, 11:43 PM
335th_GRAthos 335th_GRAthos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,240
Default

Many thanks Miller for the document!

Skoshi Tiger, yeahhh I have been looking at the Warthog for some time now but I am a dedicated MSSW2FFB user, selling my soul twice to the devil; It is getting too much

I do not think I will spend too much time on tis game gents, time availability is an issue.
Besides, I still have high hopes on CoD

I was really impressed by the quality of the installation and setup! And the graphics speed!

Since Skoshi Tiger was quick to mention the MFDs and this is something which may come handy for CoD as well, let me say a few words about Touchbuddy:
Touchbuddy was mentionned in the forum some time ago but the thread did not raise the interest it deserved.

Touchbuddy is an amazing freeware which allows you to grafically create touch buttons and allocate them specific shortcuts and use the end result of your work:
a. as a window on your main monitor or,
b. as a window on your second monitor or preferably touch screen pad

I came to i because I was fed up trying to sort out the bomb load and bomb distribution parameters in te JU-88 and the originally intended solution of connecting a second keyboard with different key allocations did not work.

The most important command is hidden in the conf.ini of CoD :
Quote:
Local Mode Cursor Fix:
In IL2, in Local Mode, the Cursor will not leave the primary monitor where the game is being played. This is easily fixed!
Go to the iL-2 directory.
Open conf.ini
Look for the [rts] section.
Change "mouseUse=2" to "mouseUse=1"
Save file.
Now that you can move te mouse from one window/monitor to the other without having to press Alt-Tab, everything is much easier!

People write very complex menus


Wild Bill wrote a very good menu for IL2


Including even plug ins like the bombsight calculator:


And people like me (lazy + too little free time) can create simple menus with the buttons they need but rarely use
This is my work in progress, I still need to add all the new bombsight and gyro controls Blackdog mentioned in his thread but in any case it is much more versatile and cost efficient than dedicated hardware.



~S~
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-23-2011, 12:01 AM
GOZR GOZR is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: France - USA
Posts: 386
Default

Great probably the best Sim atm Congrats! and very Pro!
__________________
-GOZR

http://www.gozr.net/iocl/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-23-2011, 11:52 PM
Skoshi Tiger Skoshi Tiger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,196
Default

I captured this while I was waiting for my my cougar MFD's to arrive

The two screens to the right are actually being displayed on a 15''monitor under my main screen. Now I have two TM Cougar MFD stuck (using double sided tape over the appropriate part of the screen. It is really intuitive and saves all that fumbling around with the mouse.



There are many good threads about the setup. If I can get it working anyone can!

Cheers!

Last edited by Skoshi Tiger; 09-23-2011 at 11:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2011, 08:20 AM
41Sqn_Stormcrow
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What is about the FM? I am not much of a jet fan but if it is a really good one FM wise I would perhaps give it a try. I currently hesitate because it is from the same ppl that have done Lockon and Lockon did not impress by its FM. And for me a good flight sim is above all FM and DM and less pressing as much buttons as possible.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:51 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.