1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2011, 10:45 PM
Waffenator Waffenator is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11
Default Server Requirements?

Any news on what will need to have a maxed out player server is terms of server specs and bandwidth?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2011, 11:32 AM
Troll2k Troll2k is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 722
Default

The original dedicated server(2.04) used about 2KB(not Kb) per client.
The 4.0 dedicated server upped that usage to 4KB(not Kb) per client.

As they are still optimizing the code I would not expect any specs until it goes gold.

The IL2 series has had some of the best net code I have experienced online.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2011, 01:16 PM
Aloko Aloko is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Abidjan, Ivory Coast
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Troll2k View Post
The original dedicated server(2.04) used about 2KB(not Kb) per client.
The 4.0 dedicated server upped that usage to 4KB(not Kb) per client.

As they are still optimizing the code I would not expect any specs until it goes gold.

The IL2 series has had some of the best net code I have experienced online.
+1 and I guess it's part of the success of IL2.
Plus it was possible for anyone with a spare PC with very low specs to host COOP with dsl lines.

I can't wait to be part of a coop with 128 slots filled this is going to be an experience
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2011, 04:35 PM
T}{OR's Avatar
T}{OR T}{OR is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 833
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aloko View Post
+1 and I guess it's part of the success of IL2.
Plus it was possible for anyone with a spare PC with very low specs to host COOP with dsl lines.

I can't wait to be part of a coop with 128 slots filled this is going to be an experience
Trust me - IL2 with over 60-70 people in one mission wasn't a smooth ride. Massive lag spikes and problems. You do need an extremely powerful server to overcome these issues.

I am very much looking forward to the new server software.
__________________

LEVEL BOMBING MANUAL v2.0 | Dedicated Bomber Squadron
'MUSTANG' - compilation of online air victories
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2011, 06:14 PM
Aloko Aloko is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Abidjan, Ivory Coast
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T}{OR View Post
Trust me - IL2 with over 60-70 people in one mission wasn't a smooth ride. Massive lag spikes and problems. You do need an extremely powerful server to overcome these issues.

I am very much looking forward to the new server software.
Hmm... I dont think IL2:FB was meant to be run with more than 32 players, that's probably one of the reason it was laggy as you said.

I do remember I was hosting 26 players COOP every sunday night with a dedicated Athlon 2600, 2Gb ram and a 1Mb upload dsl connection with no problem.

I've never flown more than 32 players (I stopped playing a few years ago, never tried any modded IL2 for example).

Like you Im looking forward the new server functions but were I live now I wont be able to host anything with more than me
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2011, 08:34 PM
ATAG_Bliss ATAG_Bliss is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,154
Default

I don't know what the requirements are, but if our dedicated server can't host 128 players smoothly, nothing can. We'll probably be running several MP Full switch servers.

Specs:
Quote:
Two Intel Xeon L5640 processors (twelve physical 2.26ghz cores on QPI + hyperthreading + turbo)
12 GB registered DDR3 ECC memory
most importantly - 1000mbps connection (1 Gigabyte per second) in both upload and download speed bandwidth all on fiber optic cable connected directly to one of the main trunk lines of the internet in Chicago.
I'd say we're ready
__________________

ATAG Forums + Stats
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2011, 11:55 PM
Waffenator Waffenator is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SYN_Bliss View Post
I don't know what the requirements are, but if our dedicated server can't host 128 players smoothly, nothing can. We'll probably be running several MP Full switch servers.

Specs:


I'd say we're ready
What is the max ping that will still make IL2 Playable in your opinion?

Nice setup. We will just be going for 1 128 player server and see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2011, 02:52 AM
Troll2k Troll2k is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 722
Default

Ping is not as important as consistency.

Early on when dialup was still prevalent a guy used to come on my server with a ping of 800.But it was a rock solid 800.It never varied and he never had a problem.However those with much lower pings that spiked up and down would often have lag or connection problems.

I think it is more a problem of packet loss than time(ping).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-09-2011, 05:46 AM
ATAG_Bliss ATAG_Bliss is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waffenator View Post
What is the max ping that will still make IL2 Playable in your opinion?

Nice setup. We will just be going for 1 128 player server and see how it goes.
I think what Troll2k said is correct. 300-400 Pings in IL2 still kept for a no lag situation online. As long as the server and client both have a constant, stable connection, ping isn't that much of an issue. (at least it wasn't in IL2)

As far as the server specs requirement, IL2 didn't take much of a machine to provide a nice smooth environment (90 players), but in Cliffs of Dover, I would only expect it be a much better machine. With 20x the physics of IL2 alone, I would think CPU power would have to be fairly good for a dedicated machine in the new sim. I guess we'll have to wait and see.
__________________

ATAG Forums + Stats
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-09-2011, 01:19 PM
JAMF JAMF is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 187
Default

I wonder if in CoD we'll see an aircraft follow the curved path it was on.
So not a straight line and the rotations it had in the last packet, like in IL2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:41 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.