1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2011, 08:31 AM
mauld mauld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edinburgh,Scotland U.K.
Posts: 38
Default New Rig

How does this look for a new rig?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programme...ne/9386740.stm
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2011, 12:01 PM
JAMF JAMF is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 187
Default

Cool, but it looks like it uses the rotation of the plane's axes as reference. It doesn't appear to compute the G-forces working on the 'avatar'. If the price is right, it would'n be a bad addition. It's no ForceDynamics 401 though, but that has a different pricetag.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2011, 08:55 AM
Sternjaeger
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMF View Post
Cool, but it looks like it uses the rotation of the plane's axes as reference. It doesn't appear to compute the G-forces working on the 'avatar'. If the price is right, it would'n be a bad addition. It's no ForceDynamics 401 though, but that has a different pricetag.
..and how are you supposed to "compute the G-Forces" on a simulator?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2011, 03:06 PM
BigC208 BigC208 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 252
Default

You can replace g forces (to a certain extend) by pitching up, for +g and pitching down for -g. You have to enclose the device though. It's very convincing as long as the outside picture is in synch with what you're feeling. Level D sim pitches up while you accelerate for takeoff. Once acceleration is done it slowly pitches down again. As you rotate the plane the sim pitches up again. It takes good programming to synch all the motion and physical cues together. If not, you'll get sick fast.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2011, 03:14 PM
PeterPanPan PeterPanPan is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sternjaeger View Post
..and how are you supposed to "compute the G-Forces" on a simulator?
BigC208 is right. I was lucky enough to ride in a full motion 747 simulator a while back. The g-forces you 'feel' on take-off and landing are 100% convincing.

PPanPan
__________________
Intel Core i7 2600 3.4 GHz | 1GB Gainward GTX 460 GS | Corsair 4GB XMS3 PC3-12800 1600MHz (1x4GB) | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3P B3 (Intel P67) | Windows 7 Home Premium 64 BIT | 600W PSU | 1 TB SATA-II HDD 7200 32MB | 22" Samsung T220 screen.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2011, 05:39 PM
JAMF JAMF is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 187
Default

Indeed. As there is no vertical movement in the motion pit above, it has to use the earth's gravity as the resulting G-force vector.

When for example the aircraft accelerates down the runway, the pit would pitch back to a certain angle, so that the simulated G-force from the acceleration "A" and the earths gravity "G" would combine in the force "F" on the avatar's body. If the acceleration of the aircraft is ~9.8m/s (1g), the pit would pitch back 45 degrees. It's not possible to increase the gravity with a stationary 3-axes motion pit, so no way to get "F" to 1.41g. If the aircraft with a tricycle gear were to brake with 2g, the pit would pitch forward 63.4 degrees.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-14-2011, 02:30 PM
Sternjaeger
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm afraid you guys are a bit confused about the way G-forces interact with your body..
Pitching or rolling in an average commercial sim (like the Steward platform based ones) won't give you no appreciable simulation of G-forces (only a mere peak at 1.5 G at all), it will just simulate the bank or pitch angle at which you're flying.
The most advanced simulator is the DESDEMONA one, which is a combination of Steward platform plus a centrifugal one, and even if capable of sustained G-forces up to 3G, it's still nothing close to the average G forces you can achieve in an aerobatic plane or high performance aircraft.

info about DESDEMONA http://www.amst-germany.de/publics/desdemona_pub.htm

G-manouvers are because of centrifugal force, so the only effective way to reproduce those is to be in a centrifugal machine (which also doesn't give a full simulation because it doesn't take into account lateral loads, but only "head-to-toe" ones).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2011, 02:39 PM
swiss swiss is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Zürich, Swiss Confederation
Posts: 2,263
Default

More important than G simulation would be a 360° view, imho.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2011, 03:20 PM
Sternjaeger
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swiss View Post
More important than G simulation would be a 360° view, imho.
Swiss, I think G simulation comes first because it's the main fatigue factor for a pilot. A 360 degrees view can be achieved with goggles or screens, there are clever ways around it.
No matter how good your aeroplane is, if you can't withstand G loads you're gonna be more vulnerable. I tell you this from personal experience: 15 minutes of intense aerobatic sessions can easily turn you into a sweatball. The first time I did aerobatics in a Mustang (and I was just a passenger!) I was in shock: it's all so physically intense that the idea of actually concentrating on a dogfight whilst being squeezed at 5.7 Gs is unfathomable unless you have been training hard..

I always think about it when I see our dogfights in the sim, where people keep on merrily pulling Gs for 20 minutes without actually thinking of how they would be exhausted by then... (which reminds me to post this on the "suggestions for Ilya" post!)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-14-2011, 03:49 PM
swiss swiss is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Zürich, Swiss Confederation
Posts: 2,263
Default

But you cant reproduce 5.7G in a machine which fits in your basement.
You sure could make people vomit though.

So, if I had the choice between these two...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:36 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.