1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2013, 06:32 PM
SlipBall's Avatar
SlipBall SlipBall is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: down Island, NY
Posts: 2,718
Default Thunderstorm's can be fun!!

I have been having some fun with this lately, posting in case you have never seen this feature of the Orig game.

https://vimeo.com/70646008
__________________



GigaByteBoard...64bit...FX 4300 3.8, G. Skill sniper 1866 32GB, EVGA GTX 660 ti 3gb, Raptor 64mb cache, Planar 120Hz 2ms, CH controls, Tir5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2013, 08:58 PM
Mysticpuma's Avatar
Mysticpuma Mysticpuma is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromsgrove, UK
Posts: 1,047
Default

Happy days
__________________
http://i41.tinypic.com/2yjr679.png
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2013, 08:10 AM
Continu0 Continu0 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Luzern, Switzerland
Posts: 702
Default

Mysticpuma, can you please, please, please bring that fog/dust on the ground back?
It gives so much athmosphere...


PS: look at that altitude-indicator at 2.30! Now that is cool!
__________________
AMD Penom ll 6x 1055T Processor 2.8 GHz // 8GB Ram // XFX Radeon HD 7870 Black Edition DD (2048 MB Memory DDR5, GPU 1055MHz) // Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit Version
Saitek x52 // Saitek Throttle Quadrant // Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals // Track IR 5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2013, 08:37 AM
SlipBall's Avatar
SlipBall SlipBall is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: down Island, NY
Posts: 2,718
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Continu0 View Post
Mysticpuma, can you please, please, please bring that fog/dust on the ground back?
It gives so much athmosphere...


PS: look at that altitude-indicator at 2.30! Now that is cool!

Yes fix the ground fog and the "overcast" with a ceiling that can be set down to 50m if possible
__________________



GigaByteBoard...64bit...FX 4300 3.8, G. Skill sniper 1866 32GB, EVGA GTX 660 ti 3gb, Raptor 64mb cache, Planar 120Hz 2ms, CH controls, Tir5

Last edited by SlipBall; 07-21-2013 at 05:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2013, 01:58 PM
Sokol1's Avatar
Sokol1 Sokol1 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Continu0 View Post
PS: look at that altitude-indicator at 2.30! Now that is cool!
In MOD game one can set (FMB) high altitude clouds too:



But due overdone lights of MOD clouds now look "radioactive" (a real disaster at night).
Another issue is the limited "visibility bubble" of CloD, you see big clouds formation direct in front, but at sides "clear sky".

Sokol1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2013, 03:41 PM
Continu0 Continu0 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Luzern, Switzerland
Posts: 702
Default

@ sokol: Look at it again, I did not mean that
__________________
AMD Penom ll 6x 1055T Processor 2.8 GHz // 8GB Ram // XFX Radeon HD 7870 Black Edition DD (2048 MB Memory DDR5, GPU 1055MHz) // Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit Version
Saitek x52 // Saitek Throttle Quadrant // Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals // Track IR 5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2013, 05:37 PM
SlipBall's Avatar
SlipBall SlipBall is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: down Island, NY
Posts: 2,718
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sokol1 View Post

Another issue is the limited "visibility bubble" of CloD, you see big clouds formation direct in front, but at sides "clear sky".

Sokol1

This is a consequence of the Devs getting the game to play on the many older rigs
__________________



GigaByteBoard...64bit...FX 4300 3.8, G. Skill sniper 1866 32GB, EVGA GTX 660 ti 3gb, Raptor 64mb cache, Planar 120Hz 2ms, CH controls, Tir5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-21-2013, 08:37 PM
Mysticpuma's Avatar
Mysticpuma Mysticpuma is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromsgrove, UK
Posts: 1,047
Default

Well chaps. Trust me, I know what you mean. It would be great wouldn't it.

Currently work goes on regarding draw distance and just huge amounts of features.

Bug-fixes are a constant source of irritation as (I hope you realise by now!?) we are not official and we have no access to the source-code. It's all about working backwards through the code and deciphering it layer-by-layer (well out of my knowledge, but others certainly know what they are up to).

There are lots of updates currently underway, many are hoped to be available for the next release and then there are plans for a BIG third patch that may take us........nope can't say

Regarding the fog and dust, I think these are being looked at, but seriously as we have said from the beginning, it's nice to have lots of features, but if the underlying code is porked....then what's on top is not going to work properly either!

Anyway, the next patch is being compiled for testing...but that doesn't mean it's an imminent release...just that TF can start having a mass test and see what falls off

Lots of good stuff coming....did you see the cloud draw distance that was being worked on?

Still very WIP, but work continues

Cheers, MP
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ktq3.jpg (681.4 KB, 54 views)
File Type: jpg lk65.jpg (595.2 KB, 54 views)
__________________
http://i41.tinypic.com/2yjr679.png
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-22-2013, 07:18 AM
SlipBall's Avatar
SlipBall SlipBall is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: down Island, NY
Posts: 2,718
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysticpuma View Post
Well chaps. Trust me, I know what you mean. It would be great wouldn't it.

Currently work goes on regarding draw distance and just huge amounts of features.

Bug-fixes are a constant source of irritation as (I hope you realise by now!?) we are not official and we have no access to the source-code. It's all about working backwards through the code and deciphering it layer-by-layer (well out of my knowledge, but others certainly know what they are up to).

There are lots of updates currently underway, many are hoped to be available for the next release and then there are plans for a BIG third patch that may take us........nope can't say

Regarding the fog and dust, I think these are being looked at, but seriously as we have said from the beginning, it's nice to have lots of features, but if the underlying code is porked....then what's on top is not going to work properly either!

Anyway, the next patch is being compiled for testing...but that doesn't mean it's an imminent release...just that TF can start having a mass test and see what falls off

Lots of good stuff coming....did you see the cloud draw distance that was being worked on?

Still very WIP, but work continues

Cheers, MP

Those look nice for the distance involved
__________________



GigaByteBoard...64bit...FX 4300 3.8, G. Skill sniper 1866 32GB, EVGA GTX 660 ti 3gb, Raptor 64mb cache, Planar 120Hz 2ms, CH controls, Tir5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:02 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.