1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > Off-Road Drive

Off-Road Drive Off-Road Drive delivers a true-to-life, off-road, extreme racing experience.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2011, 10:25 PM
REboot REboot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default WIP: Performance and image optimization

Here is a little guide to make the game run better and improve the image quality.

1. FXAA "Fake AA"

This small plug-in make the game use FXAA an post processing effect thats simulates Anti aliasing

Files

Simply download these files and place the dx9 files in the Binaries\Win32 folder where ShippingPC-PP3WorkGame.exe is located

2. Real AA "Nvidia cards"

You can also force Real AA trough nvidia inspector Download here extract the files and run the exe.





1: select offroad drive 2: Add the ShippingPC-PP3WorkGame.exe




3. LOD "level of detail" configuration

See picture Nr. 3 negative values for longer draw/LOD positive for shorter draw/LOD

4. Ambient occlusion



Remember to set the compatibility modes to the ones selected.


Will update with more info when i get it tweaked a little better, right now im running with FXAA and the settings posted.

Sorry for my bad English i'm from Denmark.

Last edited by REboot; 10-15-2011 at 10:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2011, 02:02 PM
ASUSfreak ASUSfreak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 31
Default

Do I have to use the fake-file AA stuff? I would like to run it on my Hardware...

I keep forgetting that I have nVidiaInspector myself...

Do you have SLi? What would you recommand for my SLi settings?

What do you mean by: Remember to set the compatibility modes to the ones selected.

And I'm from Belgium so it's neither English here :p
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SLi.jpg (20.1 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2011, 02:59 PM
ASUSfreak ASUSfreak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 31
Default

I can do this (see my tekst below :p) but how do you post screenshots in the text? I have to do it via attachement

Code:
UPDATE:
After I followed your stuff it worked!!! It finally works without tearing!!!

But it did something else... After every 5 sec it stuttert for like a frame...

But when I input the SLi settings myself in Inspector, it now works flawlessly :D

(5% per race the fps drops from 60 to 45 for like 3 seconds but hey I can live with that :rolleyes:)

Good job man, thanx!!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SLi.jpg (9.9 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by ASUSfreak; 10-20-2011 at 03:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2011, 04:45 PM
REboot REboot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASUSfreak View Post
I can do this (see my tekst below :p) but how do you post screenshots in the text? I have to do it via attachement
Upload pictures on a picture sharing site, i use http://imageshack.us/, and use the direct link from the picture and paste it into a bracket like shown below/or click the image button (looks like a postcard)

use:
Code:
[IMG]post link here[/IMG]

//test//

//test//

Last edited by REboot; 10-20-2011 at 04:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2011, 04:53 PM
REboot REboot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASUSfreak View Post
Do I have to use the fake-file AA stuff? I would like to run it on my Hardware...

I keep forgetting that I have nVidiaInspector myself...

Do you have SLi? What would you recommand for my SLi settings?

What do you mean by: Remember to set the compatibility modes to the ones selected.
1. compatibility modes

2. Force Hardware AA

3. Select desired AA mode 2-4x recommended, larger = slower performance.


Last edited by REboot; 10-20-2011 at 04:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2011, 10:46 PM
ASUSfreak ASUSfreak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 31
Default

What shall I choose with your "1" settings? As Off Road Drive isn't available to choose...

And why do you choose Mass Effect/Bio-Shock instead?

And when I set the AA - Setting at 32 QCAA (or something) it works again at 60fps continu :p nice!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2011, 02:57 PM
REboot REboot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASUSfreak View Post
What shall I choose with your "1" settings? As Off Road Drive isn't available to choose...

And why do you choose Mass Effect/Bio-Shock instead?

And when I set the AA - Setting at 32 QCAA (or something) it works again at 60fps continu :p nice!!!

The compatibility modes is due to the engine used, if Road Drive is not available create a new profile and add the game exe, then change the settings so it the match the one posted.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2011, 06:18 PM
ASUSfreak ASUSfreak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 31
Default

Sorry I guess you didn't understand me :p

I did create an Off-Road Drive profile and I did add the .exe

But I cannot choose O-R D in the pull-down menu behind Ambient Occlusion, AA Compatibility Dx10 and AA Compatibility (like you also can't) I can choose it behind SLi compatibility bits (like you also can)

I can change it to Mass Effect and Bioshock as well, but my question is: Why did you choose Mass Effect and Bioshock and why not something else? (just a question so I can learn something or is it just a guess for you as well :p)

Sorry I can't explain it better :p (you allready know that I'm not speaking English as well as my native language :p)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-22-2011, 11:14 PM
REboot REboot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Because the engine/motor the game in running inside is the "unreal" engine.

Thats whats the other game also runs on. So to get it working you have to enable the right compatibility bits so "nvidia inspector" knows what to change in the different engines.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2011, 09:30 AM
ASUSfreak ASUSfreak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 31
Default

Ah ok like that. That I understand !!!

(Didn't knew it was the same engine though...)

Ok will do that, thx!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:15 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.