1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Latest instalment in the acclaimed IL-2 Sturmovik series from award-winning developer 1C: Maddox Games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2012, 02:06 PM
Aer9o Aer9o is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 179
Default WOW!... 1C has delivered!!!

Better, much better, finally I see something of real value here! graphical bugs in 109 sorted, better fps, less stutter . I have a new build 3930k oc at 4,75 GHz with a 680 GTX , I get better performance that on my old I920 with a 480GTX...hope they keep on this "road" for the future as well! PS: and pls fix those flickering shadows!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2012, 02:31 PM
Baron Baron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 704
Default

Im not sure but flickering shadows can have something to do with your Texture Filtering settings in your graphics card control panel.


I know IL2 Sturmovik had them to but cant remember what i did to get rid of them. Im not sure on this either but i seem to recall it was a NVidia card thing much like the rings on the water thingy in Il2.

Last edited by Baron; 08-04-2012 at 02:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2012, 02:38 PM
Tavingon Tavingon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Stratford on Avon, England
Posts: 708
Default

Still lags like hell for me with dust ect, this really needs looking at.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2012, 02:45 PM
Dano Dano is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Petersfield UK
Posts: 1,107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tavingon View Post
Still lags like hell for me with dust ect, this really needs looking at.
You're not alone there.
__________________
i5 2500k - Asus P8P67Pro - Crucial M4 64GB - 8GB DDR3 - Geforce Ti 560 1GB - Xonar DG - W7 X64 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2012, 04:30 PM
ATAG_Dutch ATAG_Dutch is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tavingon View Post
Still lags like hell for me with dust ect, this really needs looking at.
Isn't this kind of thing the reason why they told us to turn effects down to medium?
I'm about to try this out after probs with flak bursts on 'very high' so I'll edit in a few minutes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2012, 04:31 PM
Aer9o Aer9o is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tavingon View Post
Still lags like hell for me with dust ect, this really needs looking at.
I agree it is a massive drop in fps with smoke effects. I do not think is an easy one to fix , other sims suffer from this one also!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-2012, 04:44 PM
Dano Dano is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Petersfield UK
Posts: 1,107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATAG_Dutch View Post
Isn't this kind of thing the reason why they told us to turn effects down to medium?
I'm about to try this out after probs with flak bursts on 'very high' so I'll edit in a few minutes.
Maybe I'm wrong but I don't recall it being so bad early on and there are plenty of other games out there that do not suffer in such an extreme way, it really isn't something that should cause such an issue.
__________________
i5 2500k - Asus P8P67Pro - Crucial M4 64GB - 8GB DDR3 - Geforce Ti 560 1GB - Xonar DG - W7 X64 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-04-2012, 06:31 PM
GOA_Potenz GOA_Potenz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 210
Default

Smoke particles has been a pain in the arse in every sim, I remember when we were working on the plutonium effects patch for 1946, smokes particles was terrible problem to get the right balance between quality and performance
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-04-2012, 07:47 PM
Flanker35M Flanker35M is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,804
Default

S!

Just imagine North Africa with the tremendous dust clouds coming on take-off..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-04-2012, 08:05 PM
ATAG_Dutch ATAG_Dutch is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,793
Default

Effects to medium made a big difference, also turning buildings detail down a bit for flying low over towns, such as Ramsgate after takeoff.

So everything on very high, except effects and building detail on medium, no ssao or aa, but the CSAA in nvidia smoothing the jaggies and results are fine.

See sig for pc spec.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:01 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.