1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > NecroVisioN > Technical issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2010, 07:30 PM
moulie moulie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default NV restarts PC while loading!

Just installed NV on:

Athlon 64X2 4600+
XP SP3
ATI HD 4850 (latest ccc and drivers)
2 Gig RAM
Dx version 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)

Install went fine. D-click the normal (not dx10) shortcut or the icon in the install folder and it hits the DVD drive for a bit, then the HDD lights up for 10 secs or so then the PC reboots itself. No errors in event viewer etc. FYI Borderlands (current fave shoot 'em up) runs like a dream...HELP!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2010, 08:37 PM
Gniarf Gniarf is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 180
Default

What's the wattage of your power supply unit (PSU)?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2010, 08:10 AM
moulie moulie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default

The PSU is 700W and perfectly acceptable for the 4850 (prior to that it was a 7950X2). I have never had a game straight up reboot the PC before and i play quite a lot of them
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2010, 12:40 PM
moulie moulie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I think i might have narrowed it down...No indication in the event viewer BUT the reboots did leave minidumps behind. They all seem to be caused by ati3duag.dll So its a clean sweep of the drivers and a a quick popping on of the 10.1 catalyst drivers to see if that helps.

Nope....new, clean install of the new drivers did sod all...its the 6.14.10.0723 version of the file in causing the problems, and that seems to be in the catalyst 9.10, 9.12 and 10.1 driver sets...still need help hehe

Last edited by moulie; 02-15-2010 at 09:11 PM. Reason: new info
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2010, 08:36 AM
Gniarf Gniarf is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 180
Default

Have any starforce protected games installed?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-16-2010, 03:54 PM
moulie moulie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Checking http://groups.google.com/group/boyco...web/games-list i have had Silent Hunter 3 and Call of Cthulu from the first ist and both X games from the unstarforced bit, but have never used a tool to remove starforce. I take it this may need rectifying?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-16-2010, 04:43 PM
Gniarf Gniarf is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 180
Default

You can try removing starforce (http://www.star-force.com/support/drivers/) It does NOT require that you uninstall your starforced games, the protection will be reinstalled as soon as you launch one of those games anyway.

Also I'm not sure it's the cause but it's possible.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-21-2010, 12:20 PM
Cage Cage is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Same ATI card, same problem as moulie. Reboots no matter what I do. Anyone tried the config.ini =2 in a different post here?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:44 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.