1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > NecroVisioN > Technical issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2010, 01:00 PM
Cage Cage is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Default This game is FUBAR!

O.K., tried every fix I can find for this POS and nothing works. I can't count the number of times I've installed and uninstalled this game.

I'm done. Off to bigger and better things. 1C can KMA.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2010, 01:08 PM
RonBR RonBR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default

The Bard The Bard is offline
Junior Member

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default
Thanks to 'Grandmaster B' on the Steam forums, we have a solution which I'll post here for all those having these issues with no response.

Here's his post copied word for word:

'NecroVisioN did not start (silently crashed) until i manually changed the "Cfg.RenderDevice" in the "config.ini" to 2. Maybe that solution helps somebody having the same problem, if it does not change the number back to 1.'

Worked for me, here's hoping it'll work for everyone too.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2010, 01:56 PM
Cage Cage is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Nada....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2010, 03:35 PM
Gniarf Gniarf is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 180
Default

First thing first: What is the problem, exactly?
Crash? When?
Error message? What does it say?
Something else? What?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2010, 04:51 PM
Cage Cage is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Default

When I start the game, my computer re-boots No error message. When it restarts, it's the same BSOD message from windows. Running latest drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2010, 06:00 PM
Gniarf Gniarf is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 180
Default

Did you try running with the OLDEST driver (the one that came boxed with your gfx card) to see if it's driver related?

And as I asked in another thread, do you have any starforce protected game?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-21-2010, 09:49 PM
Cage Cage is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I can't believe that the developer would require anyone with this game to uninstall the latest drivers and go back to the ones that came with their cards. To me that seems backwards. I have no idea if I have any starforce protected games. How can one tell?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2010, 08:28 AM
Divebomb's Avatar
Divebomb Divebomb is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norge
Posts: 250
Default

BSODs are pretty much always hardware or driver related. Check all your drivers and run memtest for your ram.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-22-2010, 09:32 PM
Gniarf Gniarf is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cage View Post
I can't believe that the developer would require anyone with this game to uninstall the latest drivers and go back to the ones that came with their cards. To me that seems backwards.
Necrovision's devs don't require you to install specific drivers, incompatibilities between your hardware and a given application require you to try out to find a solution.
Why are there incompatibilities? Either
-The guys who made the engine f*cked up ("People can fly" as I recall)
-The guys who took the engine and turned it in a game touched something they shouldn't (Farm51).
-The guys at ATI/AMD messed up when making their drivers OR graphic chip. And before you say anything, it's not because other games work well that they did everything correctly.

Yes the farm51's coding is sh1t, it doesn't mean you have to sit there and bark. You want to play the game? Fine! But you have to deserve it. And given your hardware, no, paying the $$$ was not enough, you have to think and try as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cage View Post
I have no idea if I have any starforce protected games. How can one tell?
Google is your friend: "startforce game list", first result: http://groups.google.com/group/boyco...web/games-list

Quote:
Originally Posted by Divebomb View Post
BSODs are pretty much always hardware or driver related.
starforce installs drivers (3-4 files in the Windows\System32\drivers folder with the .sys extension)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2010, 11:41 AM
OugaBooga OugaBooga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 33
Smile

LoL, i had 1 problem & that was that i couldn't use sli, other then that it runs fine "for ME" since then.
Personally i don't feel i should jump through hoops in order to play a game considered as a final product.
I can understand "minor" patches but being a detective is NOT the job of the consumer.
Anyhoo, i have enjoyed the 1st necro.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:16 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.