1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Gameplay questions threads

Gameplay questions threads Everything about playing CoD (missions, tactics, how to... and etc.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2011, 10:08 PM
mattag08 mattag08 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 28
Default Aircraft Simulation

I'm curious if there are any plans to ever make a simulation of aircraft on the scale of A2A Simulations' Accusim FSX products.

If you've never experienced A2A's Accusim aircraft, it is really impressive how detailed they were with each aircraft they have replicated. Even systems like the oxygen, hydraulic, and pneumatic systems are faithfully recreated. Times, pressures, temperatures, sounds, and movement have all been precisely recreated to make you feel like you're actually flying the real airplane.

The only problem is that FSX doesn't have a damage model or guns of course.

When when got the initial reports about what CloD would be, I was hoping it would be like these Accusim products, but with combat. I hope there are future plans to improve the aircraft systems in CloD, but if not I highly encourage the developers to test out the Accusim products and see what is possible in terms of aircraft recreation.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2011, 02:02 AM
Blackdog_kt Blackdog_kt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,711
Default

That's what i'd like too, but if we ever do get them modeled to such an extent (which i somehow doubt) it will be a very long time in the making and probably due to the users modding it themselves.

The reasons are very simple, cost vs time: an FSX add-on containing a single aircraft plus the accusim pack (no terrain or other environmental stuff, just that one single aircraft) can cost as much as the entire CoD sim.

At the same time, focusing on just one aircraft at a time lets the A2A developers really dig up everything they can about it and the higher "per unit" price allows them to go to an airfield, pay the fuel and maintenance cost to run someone's engines up and flick through the switches in the cockpit while recording it with audio equipment.

On the other hand, 1C has to fit 12 times the flyables plus quite a few AI units and the terrain engine into a package that costs a similar amount of money and is distributed through middle-men companies that skim a share of the profits.

In other words, if we were paying $200 for a game like CoD then maybe 1C could hire enough people to provide accusim-style flyables for us at a timely fashion.

I'm not against the idea of having parts of civilian flight sims (the weather and systems management elements) and combat sims (the accurate FM/DM) integrated into one package (i was a huge fan of the idea while CoD was still under development), but i think that due to the difference in business models employed it's not very realistic to expect a seamless transition just yet: we currently do have a bit of FSX and IL2 mixed together on a new simulator engine, but not the whole of what both parts can offer.

Let's hope we'll gradually get there as the series progresses
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feathered_IV View Post
It's now a race to see if any one of the other moderators can put a lock on this thread before Blackdog can finish his fourteen paragraphs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foo'bar View Post
Only bad things will be commented. Good things are expected.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oktoberfest View Post
War is usually the massacre of young people that don't know each other for the sake of old people who don't fight and know each other.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2011, 05:44 AM
Vengeanze Vengeanze is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 837
Default

1C has to model the surrondings aswell. A2A has a platform already.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2011, 10:32 AM
esmiol esmiol is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 208
Default

don't forget that plane of A2A you don't have to simulate the damage because of hit.

not hard to do a realistic plane just for flight sim but harder to make plane for combat flight sim.

or yes it is possible... but don't whine if you must have to put all the settings to low because of the ressources needed in more!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2011, 11:23 AM
Redroach's Avatar
Redroach Redroach is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 709
Default

but generally, I believe 1C has, or at least Oleg had, the same goals the OP describes. For WW2 combat simulations, CoD should be ahead in terms of realism (if everything gets fixed), though things like oxygen etc. are left out because of the reasons you mentioned... there's a damage model and countless other things to implement, too.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2011, 12:17 PM
Vengeanze Vengeanze is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 837
Default

In the Blenheim you can prime the engine but not in the fighters.
As the function is in the game already perhaps we'll get the pump primer in the fighters too eventually.
Can't imagine we will ever get to load catridges but I can live without that part.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-16-2011, 01:57 PM
Redroach's Avatar
Redroach Redroach is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 709
Default

the hurricane has a primer pump, too...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:02 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.