1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > Real Warfare 2: Northern Crusades

Real Warfare 2: Northern Crusades A new chapter in the Real Warfare realistic real-time strategy games series.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2013, 07:33 PM
Dazw Dazw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Default re-download with serial key

I recently upgraded to windows 8 & went back to Gamersgate where I'd previously bought Real Warfare2. now the game won't accept the serial number. How do I go about getting a new one, Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2013, 01:36 PM
Sneaksie Sneaksie is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 824
Default

Does the game require a serial number or GamersGate installer? If the game is asking for the serial, just don't click on Online button in main menu (multiplayer lobby is offline, we plan to restore it). You can play singleplayer or use Multiplayer button to play with your friends without going to lobby first.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2013, 03:48 PM
Dazw Dazw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Default

As soon as I click on the desktop icon for the game an activation window opens up asking for the serial number, I tried to use the original one that Gamersgate supplied but as I had previously used it when I was on XP it must know that that serial number has been used. So I can't even open the game.
Am I going to have to go & buy a dvd copy & install it all over again using the serial number with the dvd?

Sorry if I sound like an idiot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2013, 04:04 PM
Dazw Dazw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sneaksie View Post
Does the game require a serial number or GamersGate installer? If the game is asking for the serial, just don't click on Online button in main menu (multiplayer lobby is offline, we plan to restore it). You can play singleplayer or use Multiplayer button to play with your friends without going to lobby first.
I've just been through the IC1 support page & apparently I need a hardware code, as I don't have one I've emailed IC1 support for help. I'll keep you informed of what happens in case this happens to anyone else
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2013, 08:01 PM
Dazw Dazw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Default

I've found out what the problem was, it was me being a bit thick:
The serial key on Gamersgate isn't entirely displayed in the relevant window, you have to keep scrolling past what looks like the end of the serial number & the rest then appears . I'd been merely scrolling to the end of the visible part of the serial key & copying & pasting this into the game set up window & unknown to me at the time there were 4 more characters missed off the end. Duh.

I had managed to do it right the first time I opened the game when I had XP, but had forgotten when it came to reinstall it on Windows 8.

I now feel rather foolish
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:38 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.