1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads

Technical threads All discussions about technical issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2015, 01:18 AM
jimjiminy jimjiminy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Default Hi Newbie here...have some frame rate issues!

Hello,

I haven't played a flight sim since F22 Lighting 3 so I'm kinda rusty and need your advice!

I built my dad a PC for Xmas, low budget, as he was just doing web and word stuff only. Recently he has got into WW2 British fighters and bombers and me, being quite an avid gamer, bought him IL2 Cliffs of Dover on STEAM for his birthday along with a force feedback joystick.

So the specs of his PC are: AMD A6-5400K APU, 8GB 1866Ghz RAM, 60GB SSD, Asus m board with integrated souncard.

We are having some issues with frame rates and micro stutters...it defaulted to 1920x1080 on very low with AA off....didn't feel or look good, things slightly improved on 1280x1024 on low but could not quite to main menu for some reason...just a weird black bar appred every time I pressed Esc in top left corner so had to get task manager up to quite level...not good, went away when put back to 1080 res?

So I was thinking maybe get him a cheap used graphics card and/or maybe upgrade his 2 core A6 to a quad core a8?

My budget for this is 50 quid used items....so what can you recommend to make his experience much better?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2015, 02:18 PM
Igo kyu's Avatar
Igo kyu Igo kyu is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 679
Default

Standard CloD needs a beast of a PC.

There may be an update that will help a bit, but I haven't installed it yet so can't say it's good.

I suggest Ultimate IL*2 it's all of the old version of the game, and it runs pretty well on old hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2015, 04:36 PM
Continu0 Continu0 is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Luzern, Switzerland
Posts: 702
Default

Hey

What Igo Kyu writes is only half true... Before you upgrade anything, please go trough this:
http://theairtacticalassaultgroup.co...t=5058&p=52711

Install those patches, they should improve your performance. Also if you have further quetions, I recommend asking them at the ATAG-Forum. As this game was abandoned by the developers, the ATAG-Forum has become the place of the community... you won`t get that much advice over here...
__________________
AMD Penom ll 6x 1055T Processor 2.8 GHz // 8GB Ram // XFX Radeon HD 7870 Black Edition DD (2048 MB Memory DDR5, GPU 1055MHz) // Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit Version
Saitek x52 // Saitek Throttle Quadrant // Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals // Track IR 5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2015, 06:24 PM
KG26_Alpha's Avatar
KG26_Alpha KG26_Alpha is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjiminy View Post
Hello,


I built my dad a PC for Xmas, low budget, as he was just doing web and word stuff only.
Recently he has got into WW2 British fighters and bombers and me, being quite an avid gamer,
bought him IL2 Cliffs of Dover on STEAM for his birthday along with a force feedback joystick.


Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Igo kyu View Post
Standard CloD needs a beast of a PC.

There may be an update that will help a bit, but I haven't installed it yet so can't say it's good.

I suggest Ultimate IL2 it's all of the old version of the game, and it runs pretty well on old hardware.
__________________

http://ikg26.proboards.com/

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2015, 08:28 AM
JG52Uther's Avatar
JG52Uther JG52Uther is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,352
Default

Thats not a laptop is it? If you install a graphics card that should help quite a bit, I was playing Cliffs on the computer specs listed below before I upgraded.
Installing the Team Fusion patches will help a lot with performance.
__________________
http://forum.1cpublishing.eu               /image.php?type=sigpic&userid=2975&             dateline=1336686751


Q6600 @ 2.4 / 4 GB ddr2 / GTX285 1 gb gfx / W7 64
Whiners to fanboys in one move, who'd a thought it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:00 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.