1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > CoD download, installation and activation threads

CoD download, installation and activation threads All discussions about installation, online activation and Steam

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2012, 09:29 PM
KG26_Alpha's Avatar
KG26_Alpha KG26_Alpha is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,796
Default 72 hours and no reply from Steam support (AOL Blamed) ?

Steam

There's got to be a better way to access my Cliffs of Dover

I cant install Steam due to Steam Guard Verification code.

No verification e-mail has been sent to me only support request confirmation e-mails.

After 4 support requests over 48 hours still no answer ??

Oh well no CoD for the time being.


__________________



Last edited by KG26_Alpha; 03-24-2012 at 08:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2012, 09:59 PM
von Brühl von Brühl is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 215
Default

Call them, I was able to get a tech on the line in less than 20 minutes (which is acceptable considering their market, and amount of games they have).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2012, 12:25 AM
5./JG27.Farber 5./JG27.Farber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,958
Default

Eh what? Whats going on?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2012, 12:26 PM
KG26_Alpha's Avatar
KG26_Alpha KG26_Alpha is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,796
Default

Ok

I got a response

They have changed my password. ?????

LOL

Steams a joke.

Theres nothing wrong with my password.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2012, 12:32 PM
KG26_Alpha's Avatar
KG26_Alpha KG26_Alpha is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,796
Default

This is getting really funny.

They changed my account PW (for no reason)

Then sent a verification code (yay)

Ok put the code in..............

The code you entered is not valid its too old (boo)

Steam truly is crappy.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2012, 06:19 PM
5./JG27.Farber 5./JG27.Farber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,958
Default

This is very unusual, I wonder if someone was trying to steal your steam account and asked for a password reset or some one was trying to log into an account with a simular user name, got the pw wrong and asked for a new one?

Ive never heard of Steam changing someones password for no reason. However I have heard of people stealing peoples accounts...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-22-2012, 07:11 PM
ATAG_Doc ATAG_Doc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A brothel in the Mekong Delta
Posts: 1,546
Default

Took them 7 days to answer me last time I opened a ticket.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-22-2012, 08:19 PM
KG26_Alpha's Avatar
KG26_Alpha KG26_Alpha is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,796
Default

Looks like its going that way for me too.

Although they have replied to me but decided to reset password, send me old validation codes, and generally not read the messages I left them correctly.

After a SSD drive crash, its just a simple case of installing steam on a clean drive and os, I would have thought...................

Well I have only CoD on Steam thankfully.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-22-2012, 11:33 PM
Troll2k Troll2k is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 722
Default

Somehow Steam gets a hardware image of you machine when you install it.If you try putting Steam on another machine, they know it and think someone is trying to hijack your account so they send a verification code to your registered email address.However this code is very time sensitive and if you do not enter it right away it becomes no good and you have to get another one.

This also occurs if you change your hardware.Like upgrading your video card or cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2012, 08:34 AM
5./JG27.Farber 5./JG27.Farber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,958
Default

Dont think it happens with the gfx card but yes, definatley with the OS and mobo..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:05 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.