1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > CoD download, installation and activation threads

CoD download, installation and activation threads All discussions about installation, online activation and Steam

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-23-2012, 12:59 PM
Jugdriver's Avatar
Jugdriver Jugdriver is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 150
Default

I upgraded my GFX card without an issue, but I am sure an HD would be a differnt story.

Alpha what SSD drive did you have?

JD
AKA_MattE
__________________
ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T BE @ 3.4ghz
ZALMAN 120mm CPU Cooler
Intel X25-M 160GB SSD
Mushkin Enhanced Redline 8GB
MSI R7970 OC
ATI Catalyst 12.3
KINGWIN Mach 1 1000W
COOLER MASTER HAF 932

MajorBoris
"Question: Do you forum more than you fly?"

raaaid
"i love it here makes me look normal"
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-23-2012, 01:04 PM
KG26_Alpha's Avatar
KG26_Alpha KG26_Alpha is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,796
Default

Mushkin
Chronos 240GB Solid State Drive - MKNSSDCR240GB

Never had a problem with Mushkin before.

But it was possibly down to overheating issues as a cooling fan on the drive wasn't running correctly.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-23-2012, 01:49 PM
ATAG_MajorBorris's Avatar
ATAG_MajorBorris ATAG_MajorBorris is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 342
Default

Theres a fan in your Munshkin?
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth MB--Intel 2600k@4.7--EVGA GTX580 3GB--Corasir 1200 watt psu--Corsair 16gb 1866--Corsair H70 cooler--Corsair 650d case--OCZ Vertex 3--Track IR5--CH Eclipse Yoke--CH Trottle Quadrant--CH MFP--CH Rudders-MSFF2
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-23-2012, 05:02 PM
flyingblind flyingblind is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Default

I had a similar problem a while ago. I set up a second hard drive with its own O/S and when I installed steam on it it said the installation was on a new computer and sent a verification code which wasn't recognized. I chased it up using a support ticket and after a number of codes which did not work something clicked and everything was fine. Never had a problem since despite formatting the drive and reinstalling everything a couple of times the verification codes have always worked. I actually have Steam installed on three separate drives each with an O/S with just one Steam account without problem.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-24-2012, 09:45 AM
KG26_Alpha's Avatar
KG26_Alpha KG26_Alpha is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,796
Default

This is the problem.

It was the fact that the verification code system / installation need looking at.


Eventually something kicked in at Steam and the correct code was sent.

Just shows you dont own your stuff on Steam as your at their mercy to access it.

More like you are licensed to use the software when and if Steam feels like it.

Steams answer to the problem.

Hello,

A staff member has replied to your question:

Hello Alpha,

Unfortunately, AOL often rate limits our messages, as such you will need to wait
until AOL resets the limits until you will receive the verification requests
that we are sending.

The reason why we suggested creating an alternate address as it would resolve
this issue and any future issues you may experience with verification or
password reset requests using the AOL address.

If you would like to provide an alternate address, please reply to this ticket
with the address you would like to use and we will manually update it for you.
__________________



Last edited by KG26_Alpha; 03-24-2012 at 07:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-24-2012, 08:02 PM
JG52Uther's Avatar
JG52Uther JG52Uther is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,352
Default

AOL? I didn't realise people still used that! Quite often I have seen sites ask for an alternative address if you have an AOL email addy. I would definitely set up a googlemail account or similar, for just this eventuality.
__________________
http://forum.1cpublishing.eu               /image.php?type=sigpic&userid=2975&             dateline=1336686751


Q6600 @ 2.4 / 4 GB ddr2 / GTX285 1 gb gfx / W7 64
Whiners to fanboys in one move, who'd a thought it!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-25-2012, 04:26 PM
KG26_Alpha's Avatar
KG26_Alpha KG26_Alpha is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,796
Default

I have had my AIM for over 15 years.

Steams making excuses.

Large organisations used to reject Hotmail accounts years ago............
__________________



Last edited by KG26_Alpha; 03-25-2012 at 04:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-25-2012, 06:53 PM
KG26_Alpha's Avatar
KG26_Alpha KG26_Alpha is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MajorBoris View Post
Theres a fan in your Munshkin?
No

I was using a ssd drive cooling rack
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-26-2012, 01:28 PM
ATAG_MajorBorris's Avatar
ATAG_MajorBorris ATAG_MajorBorris is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 342
Default

I didnt know ssd got hot enough to need fans.

Grrr... AOL double billed me for a year and never fixed it.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth MB--Intel 2600k@4.7--EVGA GTX580 3GB--Corasir 1200 watt psu--Corsair 16gb 1866--Corsair H70 cooler--Corsair 650d case--OCZ Vertex 3--Track IR5--CH Eclipse Yoke--CH Trottle Quadrant--CH MFP--CH Rudders-MSFF2
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-26-2012, 07:12 PM
KG26_Alpha's Avatar
KG26_Alpha KG26_Alpha is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,796
Default

I never used AOL as an isp I just have the free e-mail box.

I have worked on PC's with the AOL software installed back in the dial up days it was messy.
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:39 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.