1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Gameplay questions threads

Gameplay questions threads Everything about playing CoD (missions, tactics, how to... and etc.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 04-25-2011, 02:34 PM
Buzzer Buzzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 46
Default

Good work gents!
Feel naked without a map...

IvanK's map looks very promising :up: .
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 04-25-2011, 03:06 PM
Moggy's Avatar
Moggy Moggy is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 272
Default

The impressive thing about IvanK's map for me is the fact that there's a railway line between Shoreham (by sea) and Horsham. The line was closed in the 60's so it shows real attention to detail.
__________________
Keep calm and carry on

http://www.tangmerepilots.co.uk/
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 04-25-2011, 10:30 PM
Bertram W. Wooster Bertram W. Wooster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Default

Just finished some final adjustments to the CoD English Channel map, including making the airfields more visible, highlighting the runways and showing their true in-game position, orientation and length which should make lining up for an approach easier, and adding new locations and landmarks.

A couple of sample images showing map details are attached. The map terrain and airfield/runway geometry are derived from CoD game assets and are therefore accurate representations of what you will see in-game.

As before, the final version is a 10752x9216 pixel PNG and is over 90MB in size. The map can be downloaded from: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=N5TH44FT
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CoDMapDetail1.jpg (760.9 KB, 250 views)
File Type: jpg CoDMapDetail2.jpg (940.0 KB, 245 views)
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 04-25-2011, 11:39 PM
fearlessfrog fearlessfrog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bertram W. Wooster View Post
Just finished some final adjustments to the CoD English Channel map, including making the airfields more visible, highlighting the runways and showing their true in-game position, orientation and length which should make lining up for an approach easier, and adding new locations and landmarks.

A couple of sample images showing map details are attached. The map terrain and airfield/runway geometry are derived from CoD game assets and are therefore accurate representations of what you will see in-game.

As before, the final version is a 10752x9216 pixel PNG and is over 90MB in size. The map can be downloaded from: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=N5TH44FT
Good stuff - I've temporarily put it up here in zoom format

https://s3.amazonaws.com/zoomreadsl/TestPage.html
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 04-26-2011, 05:19 AM
LcSummers LcSummers is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 585
Default

Hi Wooster,

now its fantastic. City names and airports are all there. The only thing that i need is a printer for that huge map and a big wall to attach it
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 04-26-2011, 09:45 AM
JVM JVM is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IvanK View Post
I will share it when its done. Just need to add the French rail system ... no idea on a timeline though.
On this I can certainly help you as I have the full 1940 French railway system of the game area (and even a bit more as the latter has slightly decreased since the original idea of MG) as a kml file.

I have separated the standard gauge system, the 1 m gauge system and the specific German military system developed for the big guns.

You should know however as far as France is concerned that most probably a very small part of the standard system is shown in-game, and most probably the 1 m gauge and military are not there at all (for now).

There are also many issues on the map itself, which I hope will be addressed later (like nuclear power plant landscape items, or 1975 harbors...things like that; some airfields are not completely well placed, and three of them should not exist at all. Some names are not spelled properly, and there are many other issues (devs are aware of all this, but corrections are certainly not a priority for now )

Let me know if I can do something for you (if you know how to convert a kml to a string of map positions, it might help if your map can be geo-referenced)!

JVM
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 04-26-2011, 03:15 PM
Flying Pencil Flying Pencil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IvanK View Post
Working on one. Its about 4900 x 4000 pixels. the idea to make one complete large map that can then serve as a common base to produce smaller more "desk friendly" versions.



Purple lines and digits are the RAF grid as depicted on the real world maps.
AWESOME!!

PLEASE offer the full resolution 4900 x 4000 map!
I have access to 48" plotter!
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 04-26-2011, 08:00 PM
Bertram W. Wooster Bertram W. Wooster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LcSummers View Post
Hi Wooster,

now its fantastic. City names and airports are all there. The only thing that i need is a printer for that huge map and a big wall to attach it
Glad you like it. I originally put the map together for my own use but figured that if others might find it useful then why not share? And you're right, it is pretty big: 9'4" x 8'
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 04-26-2011, 11:10 PM
OldLinePaul OldLinePaul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default Cheers Bertie

Brilliant map. Quite useful!
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 04-27-2011, 10:17 AM
Jarsalla Jarsalla is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 16
Default

Using a tool called posterazor http://posterazor.sourceforge.net/ you can make a big map out of the map Wooster posted with a regular A4 or A3 capable printer. I just did it, now I just have to glue all the pages together

EDIT: If you get a runtime error in the last stage try to resize the map a bit. Let's say like 10% off of the original then it should work.

Last edited by Jarsalla; 04-27-2011 at 10:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:46 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.