1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Pilot's Lounge

Pilot's Lounge Members meetup

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-24-2012, 08:45 AM
senseispcc senseispcc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpcamden View Post
ok, first off, let me post my computer specs i guess.

Asus g74sx
gtx 560m
12gb ram
i7 2630qm

now i'm curious, will it run fairly well? I've been reading reviews but obviously they're from over a year ago and they mention that it runs horribly. I'm hoping to hear from someone who has a similar graphics card and their experiences with it.

Also, have people started modding stuff yet? I play arma almost daily and it's very fun with my clan/group or whatever you want to call it. But when it was reviewed, it didn't get great reviews either. Has this game gotten some amazing mods yet that make the game awesome?

I just bought a joystick online, it should come in the mail in a few days, so i want a flight sim, and i saw this game so i'm stoked. I played 1946 on my xbox but never got great at realistic / simulation since i was using a crappy controller (plus i didn't play long enough to become awesome i suppose.) i realized there was a newer one so i was really excited until i saw the reviews.


So basically my questions are:
1. Can i run it well?
2. Is the game more stable/fun since its release?
3. Can you play coop? I want to play with some friends but i don't want to have to fight to the death.
4. It's $30 on steam, but on amazon it's 16 for download, and 7.50 for dvdrom. If i download it via amazon, will it activate on steam? I prefer it that way, but can't quite tell.

Thanks guys for reading.
yes
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-24-2012, 09:36 AM
Tree_UK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I wouldn't buy it now, I would wait , if you buy now then the game will be missing lots of the promised features, the next patch is the last and if it is anything like the previous patches it will break as much as it fixes. After the final patch there will be no more support for CLOD, it will be officially dead, the only way to get the missing promised features will be to buy the sequel (surprise surprise), the sequel will allegedly contain everything that is in CLOD, but this time the game will work, i.e, no more building pop ups, stuttering, flickering trees, broken netcode, trees you can fly through etc etc etc. So it makes sense to wait for the sequel and only pay once.

Last edited by Tree_UK; 09-24-2012 at 09:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-24-2012, 09:46 AM
SlipBall's Avatar
SlipBall SlipBall is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: down Island, NY
Posts: 2,718
Default

I enjoy it quite a bit, I'm sure the lap top of yours is enough to play the game. No doubt you would have to play at lower settings though.
__________________



GigaByteBoard...64bit...FX 4300 3.8, G. Skill sniper 1866 32GB, EVGA GTX 660 ti 3gb, Raptor 64mb cache, Planar 120Hz 2ms, CH controls, Tir5
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-24-2012, 09:49 AM
Lurker_71 Lurker_71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tree_UK View Post
I wouldn't buy it now, I would wait , if you buy now then the game will be missing lots of the promised features, the next patch is the last and if it is anything like the previous patches it will break as much as it fixes. After the final patch there will be no more support for CLOD, it will be officially dead, the only way to get the missing promised features will be to buy the sequel (surprise surprise), the sequel will allegedly contain everything that is in CLOD, but this time the game will work, i.e, no more building pop ups, stuttering, flickering trees, broken netcode, trees you can fly through etc etc etc. So it makes sense to wait for the sequel and only pay once.
Take this advice, unless you have no problem throwing your money away.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-24-2012, 10:00 AM
Stublerone Stublerone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 250
Default

In short: You will always have priblems running games on a notebook. Notebooks are simply to slow to run such things sufficient. It gets clear to eberybody, if you compare a desktop, which needs 500-600 watts in work and a notebook can be driven by a battery. That should be clear to everybody, that this gap will always be there. Run a desktop to play or buy a console. No need to bother around with a crappy notebook, which is more expensive with far less power, than a desktop.

I am sorry to say that. I am looking forward to the first guy, trying to run this game on an ipad. Notebooks are for working mobile, but not for running high end application or even games. Simply not possible.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-24-2012, 04:44 PM
Outlaw Outlaw is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tree_UK View Post
I wouldn't buy it now, I would wait , if you buy now then the game will be missing lots of the promised features, the next patch is the last and if it is anything like the previous patches it will break as much as it fixes. After the final patch there will be no more support for CLOD, it will be officially dead, the only way to get the missing promised features will be to buy the sequel (surprise surprise), the sequel will allegedly contain everything that is in CLOD, but this time the game will work, i.e, no more building pop ups, stuttering, flickering trees, broken netcode, trees you can fly through etc etc etc. So it makes sense to wait for the sequel and only pay once.
My interpretation of the sequel path is that the sequel, Battle of Moscow (or whatever it's called), will be a STAND ALONE game that will install OVER COD if desired. You will NOT get COD content in the sequel. If you already own COD then the game/graphics engine will be patched to that in the sequel.

I'm probably wrong though.


--Outlaw.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-25-2012, 11:35 PM
Chivas Chivas is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,769
Default

You be wrong.
__________________
Intel core I7 950 @ 3.8
Asus PT6 Motherboard
6 gigs OCZ DDR3 1600
Asus GTX580 Direct CU II
60gigSSD with only Windows7 64bit, Hotas Peripherals, and COD running on it
500gig HD Dual Boot
Samsung 32"LG 120hz
MSFF2 Joystick
Cougar Throttle
Saitek Pro Rudder pedals
Voice Activation Controls
Track IR 5 ProClip
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-26-2012, 12:48 AM
MadBlaster MadBlaster is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 666
Default

Merging dx9 CLoD with a "dx10 only" BOM/MMO. I wonder how that will work.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-26-2012, 01:11 PM
Skoshi Tiger Skoshi Tiger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadBlaster View Post
Merging dx9 CLoD with a "dx10 only" BOM/MMO. I wonder how that will work.
Given that DX-9 is a subset of DX10, any DX9 commands should work in a DX-10 environment.

If you are buying a DX-10 only game then you should have DX-10 Hardware.

But since the graphics engine used by the series is being rewritten then once you install the sequel it will be a DX10 only sim. Like the previous version of the game I assume once you install the sequel it will not be compatable with previous versions of the game.

Over the life the original IL2 - up until this very day infact, this was considered the norm and due the improvements that came with every episode of the series no sensible person complained too much!

You need to remember that IL-2 was released in 2001 and that was in the DX8.somethink era. It survived the transition to DX9

But those were simpler days! Still we probably don't have worry about it too much now-a-days.

Last edited by Skoshi Tiger; 09-26-2012 at 01:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-26-2012, 01:31 PM
MadBlaster MadBlaster is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 666
Default

I think I agree with that assessment. Bottom line, if you want CLoD to run the new re-write of the graphics engine they have been working on the past year or so, you will have to upgrade your hardware/software to dx10 or higher. Also, don't expect much, if any, performance improvement if you are running window xp from the final CLoD patch with all the goodies crammed in. Pathetic. They really shouldn't have advertised and included DX9 specification from the get go. I wonder how much additional sales they made off that? They got one from me, but probably lost on on the future sequel. So, what comes around...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:34 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.