1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > King's Bounty > King's Bounty: The Legend > Tips and Hints

Tips and Hints Different solutions, tips and hints.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2009, 04:32 PM
easytarget easytarget is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
Default battle initiative

When I click on the avatars roaming around the map I sometimes gain first turn initative and sometimes I don't. Maybe it's just me, and I'll admit to being new to the game, having owned it for all of one day, but it strkes me as intuitive to assume that if I do the clicking (as in, I initiate the battle engagement) then I should get first turn to move in the subsequent battle. And while sometimes that's the case, sometimes it's not. And that's what I don't get.

I understand the AI getting first turn when I wander too close to an avatar and have it engage me before I get a chance to ride off (assuming I was trying to avoid the engagement in the first place).

But I definitely don't understand how I lose first turn in the battle when I'm the one that instigated it.

So, all you vets out there, tell me what I need to do to insure when I choose to start a battle, I get first turn.

Because, just as in chess, given the choice, I personally prefer white.

Last edited by easytarget; 07-26-2009 at 04:41 PM. Reason: sp
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2009, 05:45 PM
siegefried siegefried is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default

You can't attack a stack, the stack always attacks you. The key to getting the first move is a unit with a high value for initiative. For example, the sprites + Agna's Ruby combo (You can get sprites early as a mage). Horsemen are decent enough in Darion + Freedom Islands (I've only gotten to this point, can't really say for those much further) for getting the first turn, but they don't always start first.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2009, 07:16 PM
easytarget easytarget is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Ah, understood. Thank you for explaining that.

So, early on I had sprites amongst my troops, when they all got killed eventually I didn't replace them with more I replaced them with another unit and apparently doesn't have good initiative numbers.

Thanks, I'll have to keep working on balancing my troops, which is really one of the better parts of the game anyway, fun to work through the constant trade-offs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:20 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.