1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads

Technical threads All discussions about technical issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2012, 04:58 PM
jamesdietz's Avatar
jamesdietz jamesdietz is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Seattle,WashingtonUSA
Posts: 758
Default Nvidia 3D effects with CloD-can it be done?

This is probably slightly OT in this section ,but I'll go ahaead & post keeping my fingers crossed.In an ever present on going try to improve anti-lasing & FPs I was fooling around with my Nvidia settings & found a 3D settings screen & checked install & run, not quite knowing what the results would be,I fist got a screen Icon , 3D vision phot viewer that allowed me to set up the utilty , which I did guessing at the settings( 3d glasses ,normal default settings & a Nvidia test that worked. )I then played the old Il-2 FBPF 1946 etc etc & it played just the same , no change.Then I played CloD and there I got the typical 3d screen with a separation of blue & red overlays ( and I think a FPS drop of maybe 50 pecent...not sure...) Wow...I thought this might be cool , so I whipped out my 3D red & blue glasses which I had bought to see the modded 3d version of Il-2 DBW,and looked again at the screen...it almost worked , but not quite ,even with the glasses the screens didn't quite merge,and there was a limited ( hardly any ) 3D effect.
So my question is has anyone actually got this to work ,if so how ? With the detail of the aircraft and the landscape it might be pretty cool to see even with reduced FPs...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2012, 05:36 PM
SlipBall's Avatar
SlipBall SlipBall is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: down Island, NY
Posts: 2,718
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesdietz View Post
This is probably slightly OT in this section ,but I'll go ahaead & post keeping my fingers crossed.In an ever present on going try to improve anti-lasing & FPs I was fooling around with my Nvidia settings & found a 3D settings screen & checked install & run, not quite knowing what the results would be,I fist got a screen Icon , 3D vision phot viewer that allowed me to set up the utilty , which I did guessing at the settings( 3d glasses ,normal default settings & a Nvidia test that worked. )I then played the old Il-2 FBPF 1946 etc etc & it played just the same , no change.Then I played CloD and there I got the typical 3d screen with a separation of blue & red overlays ( and I think a FPS drop of maybe 50 pecent...not sure...) Wow...I thought this might be cool , so I whipped out my 3D red & blue glasses which I had bought to see the modded 3d version of Il-2 DBW,and looked again at the screen...it almost worked , but not quite ,even with the glasses the screens didn't quite merge,and there was a limited ( hardly any ) 3D effect.
So my question is has anyone actually got this to work ,if so how ? With the detail of the aircraft and the landscape it might be pretty cool to see even with reduced FPs...

Nice to explore possibilities, but I think nVidia's 3DVision requires displays with 120Hz outputs sometimes called true 120Hz displays, regular 60hz monitor's, and the 120Hz HDTVs will not work for 3D, or maybe better said, not able to fulfill the potential.
I needed to replace my monitor so I bought a 3D ready, just in case Clod goes that route. 120hz and 200hz "true" are the future for awhile anyway...as a side note Clod looks better with the 120hz to me.
__________________



GigaByteBoard...64bit...FX 4300 3.8, G. Skill sniper 1866 32GB, EVGA GTX 660 ti 3gb, Raptor 64mb cache, Planar 120Hz 2ms, CH controls, Tir5

Last edited by SlipBall; 03-07-2012 at 06:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2012, 05:52 PM
Troll2k Troll2k is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 722
Default

I was under the impression that a game had to be written for 3d for it to work well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2012, 06:14 PM
Heinz Laube Heinz Laube is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Berlin, Prussia
Posts: 92
Default

http://www.nvidia.com/object/3d-visi...over-main.html


works fine for me....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2012, 02:12 AM
Porsche Porsche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Default

I have a Panasonic 50" 3d tv - I have an Nvidia card and use my tv to play pc games in 3d. The game is not really set up or shall I say maximized for 3d. I have played in 3d and they have not really tweeked it yet to take full advantage of the 3d capabilities. However I might add once they do it will add a realm of realism that has not been seen before.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:38 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.