1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > XIII Century: Death or Glory > XIII Century: Blood of Europe

XIII Century: Blood of Europe Sequel to XIII Century: Death or Glory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-22-2009, 07:27 PM
St!gar St!gar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Default

The reason I'm asking, is that the previous setting in the Geometry-tab is called "Highest". That doesn't make sense. How can something be higher than highest? Is it just a LOD -setting, or something?

Last edited by St!gar; 10-22-2009 at 07:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-22-2009, 07:44 PM
mitra mitra is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milano
Posts: 676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by St!gar View Post
The reason I'm asking, is that the previous setting in the Geometry-tab is called "Highest". That doesn't make sense. How can something be higher than highest? Is it just a LOD -setting, or something?
Hightest is the previous "highest", Ultra now is the "highest" level: the game has been always optimized to work with low prerequisites, so now they add a Ultra level which give better graphic for better performance machines
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-22-2009, 07:50 PM
St!gar St!gar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Default

Oh, it's an option that came with the 2.2.1. -patch?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-22-2009, 07:53 PM
mitra mitra is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milano
Posts: 676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by St!gar View Post
Oh, it's an option that came with the 2.2.1. -patch?
Yes
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-22-2009, 08:44 PM
St!gar St!gar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Default

I see. Thanks.

In my most recent experiences, however, it's really hand-to-hand combat that is the biggest resource hog, for some reason. It really is funny. I just played the first English campaign mission; the battle of Evesham, which I'd say is a medium-sized battle. The FPS was just fine, really - mostly in its 30's and 20's, which is quite acceptable in my opinion, as long as the units were just moving around or standing still. Even ranged combat left no particular FPS drop.

But the second units started closing in and fought in hand-to-hand, the FPS instantly took a hit, and rarely went above 15 for the duration of the fighting, usually being less than that. It would get even worse if I started zooming in, for some reason.

I'm wondering why that is the case, to such an extent. Is it because the computer has to do particularly many calculations when this sort of combat goes on? But if that is the issue alone, then why does me zooming in have any effect on it?

I truly don't get it.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-22-2009, 08:56 PM
mitra mitra is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milano
Posts: 676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by St!gar View Post
I see. Thanks.

In my most recent experiences, however, it's really hand-to-hand combat that is the biggest resource hog, for some reason. It really is funny. I just played the first English campaign mission; the battle of Evesham, which I'd say is a medium-sized battle. The FPS was just fine, really - mostly in its 30's and 20's, which is quite acceptable in my opinion, as long as the units were just moving around or standing still. Even ranged combat left no particular FPS drop.

But the second units started closing in and fought in hand-to-hand, the FPS instantly took a hit, and rarely went above 15 for the duration of the fighting, usually being less than that. It would get even worse if I started zooming in, for some reason.

I'm wondering why that is the case, to such an extent. Is it because the computer has to do particularly many calculations when this sort of combat goes on? But if that is the issue alone, then why does me zooming in have any effect on it?

I truly don't get it.
The hand to hand calculation are very heavy, because the fight is calculated "for each soldier" not for unit like in TW, dynamic factors are constantly refreshing; so I think is hard for the graphic follow this dynamic (from max 20 fighting to calculate in TW to 2000 or more single soldiers fights).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:10 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.