1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads > Controls threads

Controls threads Everything about controls in CoD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2011, 09:33 AM
senseispcc senseispcc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 598
Exclamation Spitfire going the wrong direction...

Hello,

I must write that the Spitfire heading indicator is reverse 180 indicated is 0.
I did see thios when flying over London and going to Biggin Hill the course indicated was 003 not 150 as it should be.
Strange!

A little note; the artificial horrizon is stil stuk after some barrel rolls.

I hope this to be corrected or justified.
This fantastic, great simulation should be perfect. It is nearly so, thanks to the creators team.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2011, 09:45 AM
IvanK IvanK is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 886
Default

Err No.

Heading indicator is spot on. you are making the same error that many RAF pilots made, There was a real Human factors issue with this compass.

1. Align Compass verge ring such that Parallel lines are parallel with the big pointer with a small cross bar on the top.
2. To remove the ambiguity ensure the red N is being pointed to by the large needle with crossbar.
3. Read the Magnetic heading from the blue text ... (or 12 O'clock position on the compass verge ring)
4. set this on the DG. Also note DG gyro precession is modelled as well, as are compass turning and acceleration errors.

There is a good description on this forum.

As to the AH ... search the forums for the discussion. Basically Gyro precession and toppling are modelled.

I have navigated all over this map using the RAF compass and DG system it works well if used as it was designed to be used.

Last edited by IvanK; 04-25-2011 at 09:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2011, 10:07 AM
whoarmongar whoarmongar is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 265
Default

These are not bugs they are features.

Your instruments will topple after extreme manouvers, this is normal.

Your course setter must be set before takeoff,

Theres lotsa threads about all of this on this forum, really its best to search this forum before posting. I know its exasperating when faced with a complex sim when the PDF manual is so difficient. To be honest the manual IS really rubbish I know. It could be so much better, I have seen really simple little games with better manuals,
For example it tells you that engine managment is very complex, then sorta glosses over it. hardly any explanations at all
It makes no mention of having to set your coursesetter, So the new pilot takes off flies around a bit then thinks "Hey the seas on my right side, surely it should be on my left". or "what the hell its six pm but the sun is setting in the east. Or do as I did, fly across to France then set what I thought was a NW course for Blighty and end up hopelessly lost somewhere near the dutch border (I think).

So enjoy this Sim, and search these forums thoroughly, coz you will find this forum far more informative than that manual.

Oh and look at the thread "where the hell am I going" for full instructions on setting your course. No link or quote, sorry its good practice go look for it.

Now just dont ask about " Fuel Mix" or where to find the airport maps so that you know which way to turn when pulling out of a hanger to find the runway, or even how to turn when taxiing, or how to start the engine with CEM enabled or why your engine keeps blowing up, or why your spitfire wont rev above 2000 rpm or why does my wing keep dropping, or................ ok
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2011, 10:34 AM
whoarmongar whoarmongar is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 265
Default

[QUOTE=IvanK;272826]Err No.

Heading indicator is spot on. you are making the same error that many RAF pilots made, There was a real Human factors issue with this compass.

And not just RAF pilots. On 23 June 1942 Oberleutnant Arnim Faber landed his FW 190 at Pembrey in South Wales, after getting disorientated in battle with Spitfires operating from Exeter, he obviously flew NW thinking he was going SE. and so handed a shiny new FW190 totally undamaged to the RAF. Fighter Command conducted performance measurements and tactical trials v the Spitfire IX (ie the latest spit at that time) and concluded that the FW190 climbed better between 15000-23000ft and had a better role rate. As at this time the majority of RAf Spits were MkVs this was a bit of an eye opener for them.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2011, 11:53 AM
senseispcc senseispcc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 598
Wink

[QUOTE=whoarmongar;272854]
Quote:
Originally Posted by IvanK View Post
Err No.

Heading indicator is spot on. you are making the same error that many RAF pilots made, There was a real Human factors issue with this compass.

Sorry but Biggin Hill is South East of London not north West. It is not the compass it is the direction indicator just above the compass.
For the artificial horizon it get stuck and stay there in a random corner of the instrument, in a real aircraft you can cage it and when flying horizontal uncage it for fly with the instruments or is it impossible to fly at night without horizon outside, if this is true good luck to land at night.

Last edited by senseispcc; 04-25-2011 at 11:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2011, 12:00 PM
BadAim BadAim is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 984
Default

What Ivan was saying is you have to set the Direction Indicator by the compass, it's not set when you start out.
__________________
I'm pretty much just here for comic relief.
Q6600@3.02 GHz, 4gig DDR2, GTX470, Win7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2011, 12:10 PM
senseispcc senseispcc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadAim View Post
What Ivan was saying is you have to set the Direction Indicator by the compass, it's not set when you start out.
If you start in flight how do you set the direction indicator, no mouse avaible in my cockpit.
If you find this funny why is it not the same in the Hurricane?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2011, 12:51 PM
Sternjaeger II Sternjaeger II is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,903
Default

Guys,you need to bear in mind that whilst we like yanking our planes all over the place with violent manoeuvres,in real life u avoid that as much as possible. Precession and gyro tumbling are extremely accurate and probably unprecedented in the sim world.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-25-2011, 01:03 PM
whoarmongar whoarmongar is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 265
Default

Its exactly the same in the damn Hurricane. This is a sim. in 1940 the gyro was uncageable. Go to your settings and apply some keys to set the compass and DirIndicator,use glance at dashboard and move the stick out the way to see clearly, just make this part of your preflight routine before takeoff and if your still confused read some posts,if you start in flight post patch the DI is auto set for you. If your gyro has toppled its still posible to fly blind, you have other instruments it just takes practice, speed is your best indicator ie slowing =climb, speeding up= down, and you have other turn indicators as well, try it, topple your instruments then just fly on your dashboard view, its difficult I grant you but it is possible. as for landing blind well I cant I make sure im home before dark.

Last edited by whoarmongar; 04-25-2011 at 01:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-25-2011, 01:07 PM
IvanK IvanK is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by senseispcc View Post
If you start in flight how do you set the direction indicator, no mouse avaible in my cockpit.
If you find this funny why is it not the same in the Hurricane?
Exactly as I indicated in my post use the 4 steps. Determine current heading from the main compass, then set the DG on that heading .... then turn on to your desired heading using the DG.... thats exactly how its meant to work and exactly how it works in game.

If you dont want to use the mouse then set the appropriate keybindings to adjust the compass and DG courses.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.