1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > Star Wolves

Star Wolves 3D space RPG with deep strategy and tactical elements

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2011, 06:48 PM
Blasphemaster Blasphemaster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default Missile Defence bugged?

So I have just added Alex to the team and I've decided to have him be my Missile/Anti-Missile Specialist. However, I've had this bug up since I first started playing the game:

When I hover the mouse over the pilot missions panel I see : Current Mission: Not Found String: #UI_PM_MISSILEDEFENCE

This is the first time I'm using this pilot mission behavior and I haven't noticed a lot of difference in what is going on with Alex except that he isn't attacking, and there doesn't seem to be lot of difference in how many enemy missiles are getting through. So, I'm not sure if this is just a display error or there's an actual problem with the gameplay.

Either way, first post, love the game.

Last edited by Blasphemaster; 12-29-2011 at 06:49 PM. Reason: couple text errors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2012, 11:44 PM
Sing_In_Silence Sing_In_Silence is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 28
Default

First question:
Does anyone else have this when you put them in missile defense?
(Answer should be yes. It just means that the string is (for some or other reason) missing or inaccessible.)

Any mission that isn't 'Leader', 'Attack' or 'Defend' means that they don't shoot, so that's working as intended.
Second question, possibly a 'duh':
Does his ship have any active missile defense modules?
(I forget the first two, but 3 and 4 are Berserk and Cerebus)
a.k.a. Are any hit by a white beam from his ship?

If he doesn't, that'd explain why the same missiles are getting through.

Beyond that, I'm prety much stumped.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2012, 09:17 AM
Goblin Wizard Goblin Wizard is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blasphemaster View Post
When I hover the mouse over the pilot missions panel I see : Current Mission: Not Found String: #UI_PM_MISSILEDEFENCE
Did you change something in your localization files? That kind of error shows up when engine can't find a text to display. Anyway, check the ../Data/LocData/English/ui_windows.loc in the game folder. The line 445 in the "game screen" section should look like this:
Code:
#UI_PM_MissleDefence	= Missile defense
Errors in the first part after the # shouldn't be corrected because it refers to the hardcoded value.

IMO the whole "team" feature is a little bugged. All teammates except leader shot much less often than when they fly alone. Sometimes they don't shot even when they have very good opportunity. If you really want to have one "missile defense" pilot try to position him just after the leader. If he is at the end of the team missiles hitting your leader may have be out of his anti-missile system's range.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2012, 01:30 PM
Trucidation Trucidation is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Stage 5.0 (26 Dimensional Jump)
Posts: 307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goblin Wizard View Post
IMO the whole "team" feature is a little bugged. All teammates except leader shot much less often than when they fly alone.
This right there is a huge annoyance I have with the game. My pilots tend to solo all the time even though some team bonuses are pretty large (+20% in one particular skill iirc).

I don't remember seeing that error all the times I had Alex on the team. As Goblin Wizard said, try restoring your original localization files and do whatever changes you did again more carefully.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2012, 10:24 AM
tbrass tbrass is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks, GW, for sharing the correct values for line 445. I downloaded SW3:CW from Amazon.com & my untouched archival copy had a single character changed (#UI_PM_MissleDefence /= #UI_PM_MissleDefense). Makes me wonder if there are any other quirks in this copy and if the OP purchased from the same source.

The Amazon copy is also slightly outdated & needs patching (1c, why do my downloads always fail on your site???), which might solve the problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:07 PM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.