1C Home   |   Qlinks   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > CoD download, installation and activation threads

Notices

CoD download, installation and activation threads All discussions about installation, online activation and Steam

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-13-2012, 06:29 AM
sorak's Avatar
sorak sorak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 300
Default

and some people claim this is the future... a flawed future that will crumble

steam is like the modern day AOL
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-13-2012, 07:47 AM
addman's Avatar
addman addman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Vasa, Finland
Posts: 1,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sorak View Post
and some people claim this is the future... a flawed future that will crumble

steam is like the modern day AOL
EA's Origin service is a modern day AOL, Steam is a success story.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-13-2012, 09:05 AM
theOden theOden is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 207
Default

I honestly don't mind Steam that much (not that I love it but, yeah), this was a question to Luthiers team why they block me from hosting a local server (testing missions WIP) when not able to connect to steam, thats all.


(now of course I added a singleplayer plane temporarily to the mission testing it through the singleplayer interface, but I felt this need to be stubborn and scream out my frustration , the block is still silly IMO - I'll buy Luthier a beer if he fix it)

EA Origin on the other hand, I could kill people or even wipe out a country or two to get rid of that.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-13-2012, 09:50 AM
O_Smiladon O_Smiladon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 123
Default

HA Steam. Evil I tells ya EVIL!!!!
__________________
Win 7 64bit
I7 930-CPU Quad core
ATI HD6950 2gig
6 Gig Ram, Kingston hyper Blah blah
X58 Gigabyte M/Board
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-13-2012, 11:13 AM
tintifaxl tintifaxl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 388
Default

I would really like if 1C/MG would drop Steam for the IL2 series.

For IL2 I don't want to connect to an online service, when all I want is to play offline. I don't want to be forced to install the latest patch. I don't want to have the same nick in IL2 as in all the other Steam online games.
__________________
Windows 7 64bit, Intel i5-2500k@4Ghz, 8 Gig RAM, Radeon HD 7970 3GB, 120 Gig SSD, TrackIR3 with 6DOF, TM Warthog, Saitek Combat Pedals, TM MFD.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-13-2012, 11:47 AM
Rowddy Rowddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 81
Default

Steam is the devil i hope it burns in hell
__________________
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit -DirectX 11
-i5CPU750 @ 2.67GHz (4 CPUs)
-Intel(R) 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset
-ASUS P7P55D Motherboard
-Memory: 4096MB RAM
-NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260
-Monitor SyncMaster 2494HM/2494HS/2494HS(Digital)
-1920 x 1080 (59Hz)
-Audio(Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS (WDM))
-Mous Lochitech G500
-keyboard Lochitech G19
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-13-2012, 04:47 PM
Osprey's Avatar
Osprey Osprey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 1,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5./JG27.Farber View Post
The amount that steam is actually down is minimal. Some multiplayer games will function on Steam when Steam is down. For example Company of Heroes is still working as multiplayer because they host their own server connection through Relic.

So really the set up is not Steams fault entirely. Sometimes Steam friends goes down yet you can still play online and some times the whole things down for maintence.

It will be back up in a couple hours, why dont you read a book or watch a documentary? You know you've been putting it off.

Alternatively you can come on the 1c forum and B**** and whine!

Farber, it's just not acceptable for global services like this to drop - at all! I'm pretty sure that somebody within that company will be getting a very serious roasting for today's fiasco.

Ask yourself how many times Facebook has been down since it started, or Amazon or Google or Twitter or any other public service business. It may be that in your line of work that downtime is acceptable, but in IT is just isn't - not if you're serious anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-13-2012, 05:04 PM
5./JG27.Farber 5./JG27.Farber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,984
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Osprey View Post
Farber, it's just not acceptable for global services like this to drop - at all! I'm pretty sure that somebody within that company will be getting a very serious roasting for today's fiasco.

Ask yourself how many times Facebook has been down since it started, or Amazon or Google or Twitter or any other public service business. It may be that in your line of work that downtime is acceptable, but in IT is just isn't - not if you're serious anyway.

Well, they made another announcement about being hacked and the investigation, so 1+1=5: They were attacked by a DoS? Dont blame me, blame Anonymous...
__________________
Black 1
Rudolf Farber
Staffelkapitän






Windows 7 Home Premium, AMD FX (tm) 4170 Quad Core Processor (4CPU) @ 4.2 Ghz, 8Gb DDR3 RAM, DirectX 11, ASUS HD EAU6850CU.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-13-2012, 05:11 PM
Osprey's Avatar
Osprey Osprey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 1,262
Default

So they have **** security which they still haven't improved. Do you think that other major players haven't been hacked before? They don't drop. You can defend them all you like Farber but I'm telling you, it sucks to fall over like that.

Last edited by JG52Uther; 02-13-2012 at 05:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-13-2012, 06:06 PM
palker4 palker4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 94
Default

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...&postcount=385
__________________
Athlon II X3 3,68 GHz | 4GB@1333Mhz DDR2 | GPU AMD Radeon HD 6790 GB
Quote:
Too many people have opinions on things they know nothing about. And the more ignorant they are, the more opinions they have.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:28 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.