1C Home   |   Register   |   Today Posts   |   Members   |   UserCP   |   Calendar   |   Search   |   FAQ

Go Back   Official 1C Company forum > 1C Publishing > IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover > Technical threads

Technical threads All discussions about technical issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 10-15-2012, 07:55 PM
mazex's Avatar
mazex mazex is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHemi View Post
It's within the margin of error for every single title they tested. My performance has been stellar. Meaning stable and rock solid gaming. Hardly 'horrible'. The actual quote I was addressing was "Not to mention that win 8 is going to be an atrocious platform for gaming."

http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showpos...3&postcount=10
Not my experience. Perhaps a bit more paying attention to what I actually posted and not what you 'wished' I posted. Now how about back on topic to a fix? Seems to be a lot of upset posters here.
Well, even though many of us in "the business" have had access to the RTM for two months or so the official release date is still almost two weeks away so I guess it's hard to "demand" it from Steam that is the one that starts the c++ redist installation before installing the game? And the redist installation that "fails" is from Microsoft themselves and if they had "failed nicely" with a "continue" button enabled that could let you proceed with a normal exit code there would be no problem? Hardly feels like an issue to take up with the developers? Not that I'm sure of it but the invocation of the redist is not done by them (i guess ). As I recall it the installation of C++ redist and DirectX is done for many games as part of the Steam installation "scripts" so it's really Steam that should fix it... Or rather the installer should have been made like the DirectX installer that is built with future versions of the OS in mind and simply exits with an "OK" exit code if a later version is already installed.

Not a big issue, and when Windows 8 is released I'm sure it will be fixed.

EDIT: Found a thread on the Steam forum that might help you as it seems like a "generic" Steam problem like i guessed above:

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2736288

The Steam app id for Clod is 63950 by the way...

/mazex
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5 | GTX580 1.5GB (latest drivers) | P8Z77-V Pro MB | 8GB DDR3 1600 Mhz | SSD (OS) + Raptor 150 (Games) + 1TB WD (Extra) | X-Fi Fatality Pro (PCI) | Windows 7 x64 | TrackIR 4 | G940 Hotas

Last edited by mazex; 10-15-2012 at 08:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 10-15-2012, 08:33 PM
mazex's Avatar
mazex mazex is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,342
Default

And another possible solution as I don't have my Windows 8 machine here at home (but installing on a laptop as we speak ).

In the Steam folder for CloD (..\steamapps\common\il-2 sturmovik cliffs of dover) there is a file called "63950_install.vdf" that contains the information below. How about trying to remove the part that is about installing the C++ redist? That might work? That is - remove the whole section with "VCRedist".

Code:
"InstallScript"
{
	"Run Process"
	{
		"DirectX"
		{
			"process 1"		"%INSTALLDIR%\\redist\\DirectX\\DXSETUP.exe"
			"NoCleanUp"		"1"
			"command 1"		"/silent"
		}
		"VCRedist"
		{
			"process 1"		"%INSTALLDIR%\\redist\\VCRedist\\vcredist_x86.exe"
			"NoCleanUp"		"1"
			"command 1"		"/Q"
		}
		"GDFInstall"
		{
			"process 1"		"%INSTALLDIR%\\redist\\GDF\\GDFInstall.exe"
			"command 1"		"/silent /installpath \"%INSTALLDIR%\" launchergdf.dll"
		}
		"DotNetFx40_Client"
		{
			"process 1"		"%INSTALLDIR%\\redist\\DotNetFx40_Client\\DotNetFx40_Client_x86_x64.exe"
			"NoCleanUp"		"1"
			"command 1"		"/passive /showfinalerror /promptrestart"
			"IgnoreExitCode"		"1"
		}
	}
	"Run Process On Uninstall"
	{
		"GDFUnintall"
		{
			"process 1"		"%INSTALLDIR%\\redist\\GDF\\GDFInstall.exe"
			"command 1"		"/silent /u /installpath \"%INSTALLDIR%\" launchergdf.dll"
		}
	}
}
"kvsignatures"
{
	"InstallScript"		"97740562954e36bc348aa61246de2c0aea013345248f3da2b649fd1d9d445f27abe0e2b5a50d3b17033ca9f15282334387556694fa2ac05c57aacb18fc02cbd51b11e160e331a8b9b3c7db870ed29cdee2438c2e7937f45ff272198408128d4a3176d73b5eead7ac78bb2e3138736a67ac8d04b812edda319bf5f3d5c0a0c37f"
}
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5 | GTX580 1.5GB (latest drivers) | P8Z77-V Pro MB | 8GB DDR3 1600 Mhz | SSD (OS) + Raptor 150 (Games) + 1TB WD (Extra) | X-Fi Fatality Pro (PCI) | Windows 7 x64 | TrackIR 4 | G940 Hotas
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 10-15-2012, 09:01 PM
HeavyHemi HeavyHemi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mazex View Post
And another possible solution as I don't have my Windows 8 machine here at home (but installing on a laptop as we speak ).

In the Steam folder for CloD (..\steamapps\common\il-2 sturmovik cliffs of dover) there is a file called "63950_install.vdf" that contains the information below. How about trying to remove the part that is about installing the C++ redist? That might work? That is - remove the whole section with "VCRedist".

Code:
"InstallScript"
{
    "Run Process"
    {
        "DirectX"
        {
            "process 1"        "%INSTALLDIR%\\redist\\DirectX\\DXSETUP.exe"
            "NoCleanUp"        "1"
            "command 1"        "/silent"
        }
        "VCRedist"
        {
            "process 1"        "%INSTALLDIR%\\redist\\VCRedist\\vcredist_x86.exe"
            "NoCleanUp"        "1"
            "command 1"        "/Q"
        }
        "GDFInstall"
        {
            "process 1"        "%INSTALLDIR%\\redist\\GDF\\GDFInstall.exe"
            "command 1"        "/silent /installpath \"%INSTALLDIR%\" launchergdf.dll"
        }
        "DotNetFx40_Client"
        {
            "process 1"        "%INSTALLDIR%\\redist\\DotNetFx40_Client\\DotNetFx40_Client_x86_x64.exe"
            "NoCleanUp"        "1"
            "command 1"        "/passive /showfinalerror /promptrestart"
            "IgnoreExitCode"        "1"
        }
    }
    "Run Process On Uninstall"
    {
        "GDFUnintall"
        {
            "process 1"        "%INSTALLDIR%\\redist\\GDF\\GDFInstall.exe"
            "command 1"        "/silent /u /installpath \"%INSTALLDIR%\" launchergdf.dll"
        }
    }
}
"kvsignatures"
{
    "InstallScript"        "97740562954e36bc348aa61246de2c0aea013345248f3da2b649fd1d9d445f27abe0e2b5a50d3b17033ca9f15282334387556694fa2ac05c57aacb18fc02cbd51b11e160e331a8b9b3c7db870ed29cdee2438c2e7937f45ff272198408128d4a3176d73b5eead7ac78bb2e3138736a67ac8d04b812edda319bf5f3d5c0a0c37f"
}
Gave the install script and reg edit a shot. No joy.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 10-15-2012, 09:09 PM
mazex's Avatar
mazex mazex is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHemi View Post
Gave the install script and reg edit a shot. No joy.
OK, it still fired up the c++ redist installation? It could of course be part of the CloD installation...

Lets keep trial and error - how about adding a line in the VCRedist part with:

"IgnoreExitCode" "1"

Just guessing that could ignore the fact that it "fails"...

If that fails I could write a silly c++ program that returns a 0 as exit code that you could put in %INSTALLDIR%\\redist\\VCRedist\\vcredist_x86.exe Or by the way, why not just do a copy of the DirextX installer and call it "vcredist_x86.exe" in that folder... That way it will "think" it installs the C++ redist and it works

EDIT:

Wrote an amazing version of vcredist_x86.exe that will always work Download below, unpack the rar and put the file in %INSTALLDIR%\\redist\\VCRedist\\vcredist_x86.exe (and save the orignal before etc...). It's a dummy console c++ program that does nothing but return 0 (the exit code for "OK).

https://sites.google.com/site/mazexx...edirects=0&d=1

This is the code it runs (a default empty c++ project):

Code:
int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
{
	return 0;
}
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5 | GTX580 1.5GB (latest drivers) | P8Z77-V Pro MB | 8GB DDR3 1600 Mhz | SSD (OS) + Raptor 150 (Games) + 1TB WD (Extra) | X-Fi Fatality Pro (PCI) | Windows 7 x64 | TrackIR 4 | G940 Hotas

Last edited by mazex; 10-15-2012 at 09:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 10-26-2012, 09:51 AM
Qpassa's Avatar
Qpassa Qpassa is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Valladolid-Spain-EU
Posts: 696
Default Windows 8

So is Clod compatible or not with w8 ?
I am thinking of buying a license of Windows 8
__________________
Expecting:
Call of Duty

Youtube Profile: http://www.youtube.com/user/E69Qpassa

Last edited by Qpassa; 10-26-2012 at 09:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 10-26-2012, 10:03 AM
DD_crash's Avatar
DD_crash DD_crash is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Buckley North Wales
Posts: 307
Default

Why do you want to move to Win 8??????
__________________
<a href=http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=2954&dateline=1314366190 target=_blank>http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=2954&dateline=1314366  190 Salute Jim (Blairgowrie) http://dangerdogz.com
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 10-26-2012, 11:40 AM
Fjordmonkey Fjordmonkey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Larvik, Norway
Posts: 350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DD_crash View Post
Why do you want to move to Win 8??????
Maybe he's not as blinded by the negative nannies as many others are? Win8 is NOT in any way as hideous and rubbish as people would want it to be.

To the OP: CLoD is currently incompatible with Win8, although there's a few of us that are researching if a solution to it can be found.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 10-26-2012, 12:17 PM
FG28_Kodiak FG28_Kodiak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Swabia->Bavaria->Germany
Posts: 884
Default

You can get Windows 8 Pro Upgrade (Download) for €29.99 or $39.99
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows/worldwide
So why not, make a dual boot installation and wait for the problems to be fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 10-26-2012, 12:52 PM
AirHog71 AirHog71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 43
Default

Been using it at work for the past month. It was installed on a dev box that was running Win7 and it is faster.

If there was ever a time to retire a WinXP install it is now, for less than the price of AAA game you can get Win8 Pro, you'd be mad not to.

The UI is a little tricky to use at first but once you get the hang of it, its very intuitive.

A retailer here in Australia offering Win 8 Pro with media centre for $59
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 10-26-2012, 01:38 PM
Qpassa's Avatar
Qpassa Qpassa is offline
Approved Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Valladolid-Spain-EU
Posts: 696
Default

I won't spend more money in this deprecated software
__________________
Expecting:
Call of Duty

Youtube Profile: http://www.youtube.com/user/E69Qpassa
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:38 AM.

Based on a design by: Miner Skinz.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 1C Company. All rights reserved.